Bioprosthetic xenopericardium preserved with diand penta-epoxy compounds: molecular cross-linking mechanisms, surface features and mechanical properties

Irina Yu Zhuravleva, Elena V. Karpova, Ludmila A. Oparina, Nicolas Cabos, Alexander L. Ksenofontov, Alina S. Zhuravleva, Nataliya R. Nichay, Alexander V. Bogachev-Prokophiev, Boris A. Trofimov, Alexander M. Karaskov

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

Abstract

Heart valve bioprostheses made from glutaraldehyde-treated bovine and porcine pericardia are widely used in open and transcatheter valve surgeries. However, the glutaraldehyde cross-linkage leads to bioprosthetic calcification in many patients. Epoxides are advantageous alternatives to glutaraldehyde, since they engender the biomaterial with better calcification resistance. The cross-linking features of an epoxy compound depend on its chemical structure and have not been fully studied so far. Aim: The study is aimed at comparing the effectiveness and molecular mechanisms of biomaterial treatment using diepoxide vs pentaepoxide compounds. Methods. We studied the stability of diepoxide and pentaepoxide in water and aqueous buffered solutions, as well as the amino acid composition, type of epoxide links with collagen matrix (infrared spectroscopy) and mechanical properties of bovine and porcine pericardia treated with 5% diepoxide, a mixture of 2% diepoxide and 1% pentaepoxide, and with alternating 5% diepoxide and 2% pentaepoxide treatments. Results: Diepoxide and pentaepoxide are both stable in aqueous buffer solutions (pH 7.4). Diepoxide provides high linkage density in bovine and porcine pericardia due to reactions with the amino groups of the OHLys, Lys, His, and Arg residues, and the hydroxyl groups of OHPro, Ser, and Tyr, while pentaepoxide reacts only with Met. Pentaepoxide enhances the strength and elasticity of the xenopericardium. Specimens consecutively treated with diepoxide and pentaepoxide were significantly thinner and featured the highest maximal tensile stress, maximal strain and elastic modulus in comparison with tissues treated with 5% diepoxide and diepoxide-pentaepoxide mixture. Conclusion: The alternating diepoxide-pentaepoxide combination for biomaterial cross-linking is a promising trend for bioprosthetic pericardium treatment

Translated title of the contributionКсеноперикард, консервированный ди- и пентаэпоксидами: молекулярные механизмы сшивки и механические свойства биоматериала
Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)49-55
Number of pages7
JournalPatologiya Krovoobrashcheniya i Kardiokhirurgiya
Volume22
Issue number3
DOIs
Publication statusPublished - Nov 2018

Keywords

  • Biomaterial treatment
  • Cross-linking
  • Epoxy compounds
  • Mechanical properties of biomaterial
  • Xenogenic pericardium

State classification of scientific and technological information

  • 76 MEDICINE AND HEALTH CARE

Fingerprint Dive into the research topics of 'Bioprosthetic xenopericardium preserved with diand penta-epoxy compounds: molecular cross-linking mechanisms, surface features and mechanical properties'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this

Bioprosthetic xenopericardium preserved with diand penta-epoxy compounds: molecular cross-linking mechanisms, surface features and mechanical properties

Переведенное название: Ксеноперикард, консервированный ди- и пентаэпоксидами: молекулярные механизмы сшивки и механические свойства биоматериала

Irina Yu Zhuravleva, Elena V. Karpova, Ludmila A. Oparina, Nicolas Cabos, Alexander L. Ksenofontov, Alina S. Zhuravleva, Nataliya R. Nichay, Alexander V. Bogachev-Prokophiev, Boris A. Trofimov, Alexander M. Karaskov

Результат исследования: Научные публикации в периодических изданияхстатья

Аннотация

Биопротезы клапанов сердца, изготовленные из обработанного глутаровым альдегидом бычьего или свиного перикарда, широко используются во время «открытых» и транскатетерных хирургических вмешательств. Однако поперечная сшивка глутаровым альдегидом приводит к кальцификации биопротезов у многих пациентов. Эпоксидные соединения являются альтернативой глутаровому альдегиду, так как они повышают резистентность биоматериала к накоплению кальция. сшивающие свойства эпоксидных соединений зависят от химической структуры и до сих пор полностью не изучены. Цель сравнить эффективность и молекулярные механизмы консервации биоматериала диэпоксидным и пентаэпоксидным соединениями. Методы Изучены устойчивость ди- и пентаэпоксидов в воде и водных буферных растворах, аминокислотный состав, характер связей эпоксидов с коллагеновой матрицей (инфракрасная спектроскопия) и механические свойства бычьего и свиного перикардов, обработанных 5% диэпоксидом, смесью растворов 2% диэпоксида и 1% пентаэпоксида и последовательным использованием 5% диэпоксида и 2% пентаэпоксида. результаты Ди- и пентаэпоксиды стабильны в водных буферных растворах (рН 7,4). Диэпоксид обеспечивает высокую плотность сшивки как бычьего, так и свиного перикардов за счет реакции с аминогруппами остатков гидроксилизина, лизина, гистидина, аргинина и гидроксильными группами гидроксипролина, серина, тирозина. Пентаэпоксид реагирует только с метионином. Пентаэпоксид увеличивает прочность и эластичность ксеноперикарда. Образцы, последовательно обработанные ди- и пентаэпоксидом, были значительно тоньше, характеризовались наибольшими максимальным напряжением растяжения, относительным удлинением и модулем упругости, по сравнению с тканями, консервированными 5% диэпоксидом и смесью ди- и пентаэпоксида. Выводы Использование для обработки биоматериала последовательного воздействия ди- и пентаэпоксида является перспективной методикой при создании ксеноперикардиальных биопротезов
Переведенное названиеКсеноперикард, консервированный ди- и пентаэпоксидами: молекулярные механизмы сшивки и механические свойства биоматериала
Язык оригиналаанглийский
Страницы (с-по)49-55
Число страниц7
ЖурналPatologiya Krovoobrashcheniya i Kardiokhirurgiya
Том22
Номер выпуска3
DOI
СостояниеОпубликовано - ноя 2018

ГРНТИ

  • 76 МЕДИЦИНА И ЗДРАВООХРАНЕНИЕ

Fingerprint Подробные сведения о темах исследования «Ксеноперикард, консервированный ди- и пентаэпоксидами: молекулярные механизмы сшивки и механические свойства биоматериала». Вместе они формируют уникальный семантический отпечаток (fingerprint).

  • Цитировать

    Zhuravleva, I. Y., Karpova, E. V., Oparina, L. A., Cabos, N., Ksenofontov, A. L., Zhuravleva, A. S., Nichay, N. R., Bogachev-Prokophiev, A. V., Trofimov, B. A., & Karaskov, A. M. (2018). Bioprosthetic xenopericardium preserved with diand penta-epoxy compounds: molecular cross-linking mechanisms, surface features and mechanical properties. Patologiya Krovoobrashcheniya i Kardiokhirurgiya, 22(3), 49-55. https://doi.org/10.21688/1681-3472-2018-3-56-68